Required Introduction Thingy

Ok, another new form of technology of which I am now in need of using. Although I guess blogs aren’t too new, maybe I’m just old school. Nontheless, here I am. Starting a blog. Something of which up until now I have refused to have. I don’t know why I do, I guess I’m just slow on keeping up with new things. I was late to getting facebook and I only just got Twitter, only because I had to. I still buy cd’s from record stores instead of downloading. And I still own a mobile phone with a keypad, not touchscreen.

Anyways, I should introduce myself. My name is Kachina Dimmock, I am 19 and got this blog for Uni. I am a student at the University of Wollongong and am a first year student studying Media & Communications. I will be majoring in International Media and Communication to hopefully get myself a job working overseas one day. I don’t really have a clue about what kind of work I’d like to do, infact I don’t really care, as long as I get to be experiencing somewhere in the world I am yet to venture I will be happy.

Which leads me to my next topic. Hobbies. If I want people to actually read this I guess I should give you all a general idea about what I’m interested in and all that stuff. So here goes! I love travelling! I’ve been lucky enough to have been travelling with my family since I was 18 months old. I have seen many great places! With my family I have visited America (several times), Canada, Japan, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, France, Macadonia and Greece. My Passport will tell you I have also been to Spain, China and Mexico, but they were only for stopovers and Mexico was when I was 18 months old, so of course I don’t remember. I spent last year travelling the world, of which I went to Europe with my family, then ventured off on my own to Nepal, where I did volunteer work at a rehab centre for children infected with HIV/AIDS and ended it with some time in the States/Canada visiting family and friends. I hope somewhere along in my blogging I can tell you stories about my trips, but it may be a bit difficult when this blog is supposed to be about uprising technologies. But more on that later.

I also enjoy reading, my favourite book would have to be Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Piccoult, and the Tomorrow Series by John Marsden. I am always reading a book (paperback, not that kindle thing). At the moment I am reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Beautiful. I could talk about it forever, but I don’t want to bore you, so moving on!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE music! I’ve been playing the violin since I was 7, and can play a little on the Keyboard, drums and guitar. My favourite genre is Alternative and Rock. Favourite bands are Muse and Guns N Roses. I don’t like any of this newage stuff that claims to be music, but is really a computer. Music is real instruments making a real sound!

So getting to the point. I’ve got this blog for Uni, meaning what will be written in it will be posts that reflect on the central arguments of the materials that I will be given in my Tutorial classes. So until then,

Kachina Out!

Leave a Reply

