Portable Phone Apocolypse

Last week I became part of the crowd. A typical consumer. I bought an iPhone. And not gonna lie, I love it already. Why did I choose the iPhone you ask? Or better yet, why is it I am starting this blog off with a recount of what I did last week?

Well, as coincidental as it seems convenient, this week’s Convergent Media Practices Lecture was about the evolution of the portable phone and the infamous war between Apple and Google Android. A big discussion that took place in the corresponding tutorial was who has which phone and why. The reason I chose the iPhone over the Android was simple. I am technologically inept and the iPhone is much easier to use. Only a million times have I been caught in a situation where my Android owning friends have asked me to send a text to someone off their phone. It takes me a minimum of ten minutes every time to figure out how to get the the text menu.

An argument that was bought up a lot by the Android supporters was the fact that Apple is a locked company, whereas Android isn’t. To that my response is simple. I do not plan on getting to the “codes” of my phone, and the locked application system is in no way putting me at a disadvantage. I plan on using my phone for its sole purpose and only using facebook in times of great boredom.

So how is it we went from this:                              

To This?                                             

Just on vision alone the transformation is amazing. Out of curiousity, I asked my father (who is old) what his opinion was of mobile phones having seen it evolve from the beggining. I did regret asking, about five minutes later when he was still ranting on, but nonetheless this is what he said: “Mobile phones are good for the use of urgent contact and contact with work. The use of them for texting and continuously speaking is surely a sign of inadequacy and uncertaintenty; the desire to feel wanted between two or more people. They also interfere with normal verbal intercourse between people. Pre-mobile days, it was considered ill-mannered around meal times to answer a ringing phone. Now it seems at meal times the mobile phone has become part of the eatting ettiquette.”

He then continued on to tell me that if he was at lunch with someone and their phone rang, if it weren’t work related or an obvious emergency he’d just walk out. He’s so old school… but I can see where he is coming from. The statistics shown in the lecture were alot larger than I thought! While I do agree with my Dad that being around someone who is on their phone the whole time is incredibly annoying, not to mention rude! I do disagree in that I think text messaging is handy and an easy way to get in touch with someone. I don’t particularly like phone calls. I never have. When organizing to do things with friends, I would much rather just send a text then make a phone call.

While the evergrowing tree of technology may be eye-opening for those of the older generations, it is very convenient, and the continuous convergence of technologies only makes these objects more and more popular as well as convenient and this trend is only going to grow.

Leave a Reply

